Creating A Hair Uniform

Lob 1 After I read this article about why President Barack Obama wears the same suit every day I started to think about applying those same concepts to my own life. Studies show each decision we make wears our brain down a little bit, eventually leading to mental fatigue. Some of our country’s greatest innovators, think Steve Jobs, are known for a single sartorial look. It cuts down on the time it takes to get dressed every morning, making more time and brain power to focus on other, arguably more important things. And while I’ve worked on paring down my wardrobe and streamlining my dressing, this article from the Huffington Post argues, thanks to my gender, a single subject wardrobe for me will likely result in questioning looks from the rest of the press corps. (Although some women have done it.) But what about a single hair style?lob 2 I recently cut my long curly hair into a shoulder grazing lob — excited to see a style that finally embraces my naturally wavy, slightly messy texture. It’s just what I need since my hair simply won’t do straight and sleek in Florida’s  humidity. Lob 3 But instead of mastering  a one and done style that lets me focus on something besides my hair for the rest of the day, I find myself spending my morning searching for short hair styles and braiding and twisting my hair into shapes that leave me neither happy nor comfortable. And by the time I’m done there’s no time left to try something different, or  really even pack a lunch. I think I’m going to give myself a little while longer to play with my new cut, fine tune a method, pick a look and then stick to it. If these ladies can wear this style from the red carpet to the street, surely I can take mine from the Capitol to the farmer’s market.

Do you have a hair uniform? Would you try it? How about with your wardrobe?

Image 1 | Image 2 | Image 3

2 Comments

Filed under RW Style

2 responses to “Creating A Hair Uniform

  1. This post is timely for me, as I just recently chopped off my hair, too — when curly, it is close to chin-length. I’m finding it curls much better overall when it’s short; I do miss having long hair to do things with, but my curly hair routine is so much easier now and I’m just generally happier with it. I can still straighten it easily if I want to, but I mostly follow a Curly Girl method for cleaning and styling it, and sometimes put a pin or clip in it to keep the long bangs out of my eyes. It’s working well! I used to try to braid it and pin it up in new ways a lot, but now that it’s this length (just long enough to pull back on bad hair days and for workouts), I’m finding I’m sticking with the curly look with the bangs loosely pinned back almost every day.
    And as for clothes, I’ve been contemplating something of a uniform for a while now, but haven’t taken the plunge. I like having diversity in my daily work wardrobe, though, and right now I’m just trying to pare down what I have. I have just a few necklaces, bracelets, and rings that I rotate, and I’m slowly moving to a narrower color palette (blues, greens, grays, and black, with a little bit of white), but some pieces outside of that range are hard to let go (and sometimes complement the palette quite nicely). I’ve always been intrigued by capsule wardrobes or having a specific number of pieces that can be arranged into different combinations. My travel wardrobe is somewhat like this, but I haven’t yet been able to narrow my regular wardrobe. A lot of blogs recommend pinpointing your personal style, but I don’t think I have just one, as I like different looks. Kevin and I created a database last weekend for my clothes, so I can track what I wear and see what I have. I’m still doing the data entry and taking the photos, but hopefully this will help me decide what to get rid of or invest in.

    • Regan

      Wow a database to track your clothes sounds great! I’d love to see it! Erich and I both made capsule wardrobes this spring and have been living with them for the past few months. We didn’t have the nerve the pull the trigger and get rid of the rest of our clothes so they’re packed away in storage now, but we really haven’t dipped into them and have both found getting dressed in the morning is much easier.

      Do you use the conditioner (Co/no-poo) washing method? I tried it for a week or so and wasn’t sold. But that’s when I had longer hair. I wonder if I should try again.

      Thanks so much for being my first commenter!

Leave a Reply

